1.2 Question

July 6, 2012 § Leave a comment


I caught him while he was working out. I’d hidden my pregnancy from him for the past few weeks, but, it was time for him to know.
“Well…uh…”


“It’s okay, whatever you need to say can say it Carls.” I paused and then finally blurted it out, “I’m pregnant!”


He was shocked (I was too). But he was also happy.
“Hey there little guy!” He said, listening to my tummy.

“Oh what’s that son?”
I rolled my eyes. “You know it’s a girl,” I said, my hands on my hips. He laughed, “how do you know?” I paused, “well I don’t. But I sort of hope for a girl.” Michael smiled, “Alright then. I still say its a boy.”


He played peek a boo with my baby bump and I laughed so hard.
Then we decided to sell my furniture and re-decorate that room as the nursery.


We did blue and purple wallpaper and bought tons of toys. I’m not kidding, I probably spent everything I made decorating.


One night Mickey came home from work and got dressed pretty nicely.
“Hey Carls wanna go somewhere with me?”


“Where?” I asked, standing up. “Eh. Nowhere fancy, but where a dress.”
I laughed, “it’s not fancy but I need a dress.”
He nodded. “It’s a surprise.”


“Alright. I’ll…humor you.” I said, going to get ready.

Soon we got in the cab and arrived at a fancy restaurant.

“Fancy pants? Someone get a raise?” I asked as we chatted over dinner.
“Eh. Maybe. I’m pretty far in my career now.” He said nonchalantly. “Oh really?”
“Made team captain a couple weeks ago.” He bragged and I laughed, “okay Mr. Bigshot.” I said, rolling my eyes dramatically.

Soon we were outside of the restaurant where other couples were looking at the stars.

So we joined them and giggled as we pointed out different constellations.

After a few minutes, I decided that this was the perfect moment to tell Mickey how I really felt about him.

“I love you,” I whispered cuddling against his shoulder. He didn’t say anything.
I felt like I was going to have a panic attack.

He stood up. Oh no, “Mickey what’s wrong?” I asked, standing up with him.
He got down on one knee.
“Mickey what in the hell are you doing?”

“Carlee I know that we’ve only known each other six months and I know that you were supposed to just be my roomie and that was cool and all. But. You’ve become my best friend. And we’re having a child together. And I just-” He stopped stammering and gathered himself. “Carlee Smithe…”


“I love you more than anything. Will you please marry me?”


“Oh my God! Yes yes yes yes yes! A million times yes!” I screamed jumping up and down.

“I cannot believe this Mickey!” I said, running to hug him.


We hugged and other couples cheered us on.
This was probably the happiest day in my life.

 

Peace,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1.2 Question at 100 Carrigans: A Gene Challenge.

meta